High on the southwest point of Blackdown Common is Culmstock Beacon. It is one of a chain of Elizabethan beacons used for lighting fires to warn of advancing enemies, for example, The Spanish Armada.
The beehive-shaped structure was built of flint. It was rebuilt in 1870 after the collapse of the earlier one.
Culmstock Beacon is a wildlife haven with stunning views, particularly in the late summer when the bell-heather is in bloom. Access via public bridleway
Blackdown Hills – Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty
- Dog Friendly
- Free Entry
- Open All Year